My CD Collection

I have a bit of a different post today for you. I’m going to take you through my CD collection. I do not have many CDs,  26 to be exact, but I use these ones often and will be expanding soon, due to my preorder of the new Everything Everything album, ‘A Fever Dream’. These albums will be in no particular order, not from least favourite to most favourite. I have homemade genre markers to make it easier to choose an album for me to listen to while doing work or to listen to in general.

This will be a long post, punctuated by images of the album covers respective to the paragraph about it. I really hope you get some insight into my tastes and my thoughts on certain bands. I sample music before buying it, except if I preorder something which I know I will like.

screamedelica

We start with Primal Scream’s ‘Screamadelica’. I got this copy of the album through an order at CeX, a preowned game, DVDs and Music service. I enjoy this album immensely, due to the sheer amount of madness it has to it (what drugs does to the music!). ‘Loaded’ is my favourite track, because it makes you want to dance so much.

 

xxT

he next album is The xx’s debut, ‘xx’. This was a bargain, I paid only £1 for this, and it has been on my sound system many a time. The album flows incredibly well, from ‘Intro’, to ‘Stars’. My favourite of the songs has to be ‘Islands’, which is really catchy, but ‘VCR’ and ‘Heart Skipped A Beat’ are incredible too. I intend to get the sophomore album. ‘Coexist’ and this year’s album, ‘I See You’. The xx are such a great band, and if you haven’t got into them you’re doing yourself a disservice.

bloss

This one is really special to me. I preordered Blossoms’ eponymous debut album last summer, and it came signed by the band, plus producer and The Coral frontman James Skelly. I really enjoy this album, it was my favourite of last year, beating Radiohead and The 1975. The inspirations from Manchester bands are very clear, making a fantastic debut showcasing their talent. My favourite track is ‘Smashed Pianos’, as well as lead single ‘Charlemagne’ and fan favourite ‘Blow’. I recommend you see them live, as they have awesome stage presence. The sophomore album is in the works, and we have been told it’s like ‘New Order meets Kylie Minogue’. I can’t wait!

gth

The 3rd album from quartet Everything Everything, ‘Get To Heaven’ is a fantastic, era-defining record from start to finish. They break genre barriers in ways that no other band have. My favourite track is ‘Spring/Sun/Winter/Dread’ because of the sheer scale of madness is there, and I love calling people ‘Craven Baboon’ (Thanks to the band for answering that on their Reddit AMA). ‘Man Alive’ and ‘Arc’ are albums that I will get in future, but I’m trying to find the 2CD release of Arc. A Fever Dream, the new album out August 19th, is already pre ordered on CD.

download

Glaswegian band Franz Ferdinand’s eponymous debut I picked up from CeX for a grand total of 20p. I love the album, and this was too good to resist. My favourite track is ‘Take Me Out’, because of it’s incredible riff and catchy lyrics. I will be seeing Franz Ferdinand next month in Portsmouth, and I will review that gig when I come back from Victorious Festival.

maxparkdownload (1)

The next two are both from 00’s band Maximo Park. Their debut and second album, ‘A Certain Trigger’ and ‘Our Earthly Pleasures’ are both in my collection because of how damn good they both are. Paul Smith’s vocals are so awesome, it makes a really cool listening experience. I have my godmother to thank for recommending this band to me. Thank you! ‘Risk To Exist’ was released this year, and I didn’t like it as much as the previous albums, but it still was a solid piece of work.

siouxse

I was given the greatest hits of Siouxsie and The Banshees for Christmas by my friend, and I still haven’t got around to listening to it! I’m sure it’s great, and I will listen to it one day, I promise!

stro

I can’t really give my thoughts on The Stone Roses’ debut album, as it’s classed as an era defining album of the late 80’s, but I like it as well. Brown and the gang have got back together and have played a series of shows, including Wembley Stadium with support bands of Blossoms and Sleaford Mods. ‘She Bangs The Drum’ is my favourite song off the album, particularly the isolated drums and bassline at the beginning.

turbrakes

Turin Brakes’ great album ‘The Optimist is next in my collection. I love this album, and I love the band. My favourite track is ‘Feeling Oblivion’. This is my go-to when I need to do some work to focus or if I need to relax for a bit. I will be seeing Turin Brakes live soon, and Olly Knights from the band talked to me, read the interview here.

Muppets-Most-Wanted-soundtrackdownload (2)

The next three are soundtracks for films, ‘Muppets Most Wanted’, ‘La La Land’ and ‘Frozen’. They are all fantastic soundtracks. Muppets Most Wanted has a few great songs, but I don’t listen to it too much. Frozen is a great soundtrack, like most Disney films. Despite that I am a teenage male, it doesn’t phase me that it’s a ‘girl’s film’. You should be able to see great cinema and listen to great songs without anyone scrutinising you.

lalaland

La La Land, of this year, is a film I completely fell in love with. The jazz, the singing, the cinematography, so incredible! I ordered the soundtrack when I got back from the cinema. ‘Another Day Of Sun’ is something that everyone should hear, because makes me want to jump and dance, much like the opening number of the film.

Green Day - Dookie

Going into some punk now. Green Day’s ‘Dookie’. This was given to me by a friend because they knew that I loved Green Day. Upon listening to it today, while writing this post, I heard ‘All By Myself’, the hidden track after ‘F.O.D’. What a cool bonus to the album, and I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t stumbled across it before. Featuring ‘Basket Case’ and ‘When I Come Around’, this album has an incredible timing and idea to it. Hopefully one day I will see them live. I enjoyed the latest effort, ‘Revolution Radio’,  but it wasn’t a match for this album or ‘Nimrod’ or the famous ‘American Idiot’.

vav

Again a gift, Panic! At The Disco’s ‘Vices and Virtues’ features next. I have listened to it a couple of times, with ‘Sarah Smiles’ being the outstanding track, but not many other times. I like the old Panic! albums more, with my favourite being ‘A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out’.’ I didn’t like Brendon Urie’s solo project (essentially) ‘Death Of A Bachelor’. Not My Thing.

ramones

The first punk album I got into, ‘Ramones’, holds a place in my heart. The songs are completely preposterous but are brilliant at the same time. ‘Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue’ is amazing and I now mispronounce Texas Chainsaw Massacre to Tex Chainsaw Massa-cree, because of ‘Chainsaw’. What an album, I recommend this to anyone and everyone. Don’t Listen To My Heart, listen to this album.

th

Next is The Best Of Talking Heads. What an album this is. If you’ve never heard of Talking Heads, which I doubt, then I urge you to listen to them. It features ‘Road To Nowhere’, ‘Once In A Lifetime’ (One of Tom Hanks’ Desert Island Discs) and my personal favourite, ‘Psycho Killer’. This was a gift and a very good gift too. It takes permanent residence next to the sound system, as it is played so much.

bia

Next to Talking Heads is Dire Straits’ ‘Brothers In Arms’, and what an awesome album it is. My dad is a huge Dire Straits fan, and this is one of our mutual interests. My favourite track is ‘Money For Nothing’, a milestone in rock music, with a part CGI video in 1985! Other good ones on this are ‘Walk Of Life’ and the title track and finale ‘Brothers In Arms’.

garbage

Garbage’s eponymous debut is a good album, with my favourite tracks being ‘Supervixen’ and ‘Only Happy When It Rains’. I got this album from Poundland for a sum of money that I won’t disclose but is probably evident to you. I don’t come back to this very often, but when I do it always gives an enjoyable experience for me. My family think otherwise.

Muse - Absolution

Headbanging is compulsory here. Muse’s ‘Absolution’ is an awesome piece of work and probably my favourite album from the Devon trio. It has some of their greatest songs from the famous ‘Time Is Running Out’ to the anthem of ‘Hysteria’ and the wicked riff of ‘Stockholm Syndrome’. I am yet to see Muse live, but this task is pretty high on my bucket list. Also, the new single is not my thing, but I have high hopes for the album. Please Matt, Chris, Dom, make it good.

Pink Floyd - Dark Side Of The Moon

Pink Floyd’s Dark Side Of The Moon is great. No point in saying anything else.

mgdefmab

Double here. Oasis’ two best albums, ‘Definitely Maybe’ and ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’ which also happens to be their debut and sophomore. I fangirl about Oasis to this day and none of my friends understands it. They like ‘Don’t Look Back In Anger’ (as everyone does, a little bit) but are less enamoured on anything else that I played them. I tried ‘Live Forever’, my favourite song by them, but they pushed it away saying that it was ‘crap’. Anyway, I don’t care how much of an arsehole Noel or Liam is, they made incredible music, and are still making incredible music, but separately. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds has pushed out great material, and Beady Eye wasn’t so good but the Liam solo is sounding very good, what a track ‘Wall Of Glass’ is. My favourite tracks off ‘Definitely Maybe’ are the aforementioned ‘Live Forever’, ‘Supersonic’ and ‘Cigarettes and Alcohol’. Of ‘(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?’, ‘Wonderwall’. ‘She’s Electric’, ‘Morning Glory’ and a tearjerker for me, ‘Champagne Supernova’.

vessel7b9d56e0b8d582ceddda5ba15e3283c77df39b827893aed0e5dde2475b9ffcee_large

Finally, we have one more double bill of albums, but this time from Columbus, Ohio based band Twenty One Pilots. 2013’s ‘Vessel’ and 2015’s ‘Blurryface’. I got into Twenty One Pilots through the YouTuber Infinity On Hannah, read my interview with her here. ‘Vessel’ is my favoured album out of the two, but ‘Blurryface’ still holds up as a solid piece of work. I used to obsess over this band but have calmed down a bit now. My favourite tracks off ‘Vessel’ are ‘Migraine’, ‘The Run And Go’ and ‘Semi-Automatic’ with my favourites from ‘Blurryface’ being ‘Not Today’, ‘We Don’t Believe What’s On TV?’ and ‘The Judge’. Twenty One Pilots have had much success in the mainstream and now have a huge following, and I am anticipating what Tyler and Josh will do next.


Wow, you got this far? Thanks for reading me droning on about my CD’s. I will probably make update posts every few months, let me know if that’s a good idea. 

If you want to know the serial number and versions of each CD, look at my Discogs collection here.

Posts coming up this week include reviews and possibly another interview.

I love the support i’ve been getting, it gives me a little bit to do over the summer, thank you to anyone who read any of my posts.

See you on the next post

Alex C

 

Leave a Reply

